BFR – Day 6

Last ride – 15 miles, 103 for the week.

My little cycling computer gives some nice stats. Over the course of the week, the temperature on the road was anywhere from 90º to 105º. I didn’t feel it because of the light ocean breeze, but that explains why I was always so tired by the time I got back.

Over the course of the week, I averaged about 15 mph every day, which surprisingly isn’t much better than I do on my regular route back home. I think that a lot of it had to do with the constant breeze; I tried to bike against the breeze on the way out so it would be at my back on the return trip. Once it switched on me less than halfway through the ride – that was a long, long 15 miles. Also, the flat road meant that I did have any chance to make up some time on a downhill section.

I did between 15 and 20 miles a day, and each day I spent at least an hour on the road. I love the flat, though; seemed like I could go for 2 hours without getting tired, unlike Connecticut where 10 miles wipes me out.

Leave a Reply

