National “why I didn’t bike to work” day

Before anybody else asks me, no I did not ride my bike to work today, on “National Ride Your Bike To Work” Day.

It’s not just the distance. It’s only 15 miles, which is not much longer than the usual 10 to 12 mile exercise routes that I do a few times a week.

It’s not just the hills. This is New England, after all, and we’re used to them.

It’s the combination. There is roughly a 1,000 foot increase in elevation over the course of the route into work. The first 10 miles are a nice ride. The last five, unfortunately, are steep, windy, and on roads that aren’t well maintained.

I’ve ridden into work before; it’s at least a 90 minute ride in. To give you some perspective on the hills, it’s just under an hour ride home.

I do plan to tackle this later on in the season, after I’ve worked up to doing more hill exercises.

 

Leave a Reply

